Camarines Sur Islands Philippines
Camarines Sur Museums
Philtranco Heritage Museum
San Nicolas, Iriga City, Camarines Sur
This museum houses artifacts of the oldest transportation company in the country founded by Albert L. Ammen in 1914.
This transportation company is now known as the Philtranco Bus Company.
Poblacion, Tigaon, Camarines Sur
The Tigaon Museum houses old important documents, achievements, artifacts, and antiques that had captured Tigaon's Hispanic evolution - from a thriving human settlement toward its historic evolvement into a society of democratic ideology running through the Commonwealth, the war years, and present structure of governance. It showcases achievements of Tigaon sons and daughters - in Bicol politics, rural economics, industry, philosophy and the arts.
The Tigaon Municipal Museum is a two storey building located at the junction of Aguinaldo and Quezon Streets. With an estimated easement of ten to fifteen meters from the national road, this building once housed the seat of government of the Local Government Unit of Tigaon. On the second floor is housed the Tigaon Municipal Museum . A terrace, wooden flooring, and miniature version of a grand staircase reminiscent of old Spanish architectural design adorn this building. A marker on the lower right wing of the building indicates the time it was originally built.
Museo del Seminario Conciliar de Nueva Caceres
Metropolitan Cathedral Compound, Naga City
The museo is located in the central pavilion, occupying rooms which used to be the Administrative offices. On display are materials distributed in four exhibit areas.
The Gallery of Bikolano Ecclesiastics is a showcase of the memorabilia of prominent Bikolano bishops, old scholastic records, a directory of the Bikol clergy, books owned by Jorge Barlin and archival materials, which all give evidence of the ecclesiastical education of the Bikolanos.
The Ecclesiastical Vessel and Artifacts Room is a mixed collection of liturgical materials: monstrances, chalices, candelabras, and candeleros, retablos, and other pieces-all reminders of the devotions of the past, the Christian heritage of the Filipinos.
The Marian Room is a collection of pictures of the canonical coronation in 1924 of the Virgin of Peñ¡¦²ancia. There are water color paintings of the different Marian images venerated in the different parishes of the Archdiocese of Caceres.
Of the most interest and significance is the Archaeological Room. The collection of Pre-Christian artifacts consists of Neolithic stone technology unearthed mostly in the Bikol Region such as stone tools; harkcloth heaters and burial jars and covers which reveal the animistic beliefs of our ancient people. There are iron blades of the Metal age and stone animals, and crude pottery vessels for cooking. Shell beads, glass beads and metal bracelets are on display, together with teeth decorated with golden designs of star, flowers, etc. Chinese tradewares from the Tang to Ching dynasties, Aunamese and Sawankalok wares, jarlets and celadous of all kinds. The collection is owned by Mr. Ermelo N. Almeda, an archeologist and a prominent citizen of Naga City .
The museum was declared a national historical landmark on September 9, 1988. From a humble vocation house of the eighteen century, it has emerged as a center and well-spring of ecclesiastical education in the Bicol region.
University of Nueva Caceres Museum
Igualdad, Naga City, Camarines Sur
Located inside the University of Nueva Caceres campus, the UNC museum is one of the oldest museums outside Manila and recognized by the International Association of Museum. It houses historical artifacts of the ancient Bicol, its people and its culture.